top of page

The Sacrifice (Poem)

Tears streak down my face as I watch you die.

You aren’t even fully gone, yet I grieve.

Your breath comes in raspy gasps; your eyes lose focus.

I want to beg you, plead with you not to leave,

but the choice was yours, however noble.

When danger came you thought first of me

and you shielded my life with your precious own.

I’m overwhelmed by your love and courage

and touched by the absolute selflessness you’ve shown.

How can I ever be worthy of a love such as this?

Your death for my life; this was your purpose

yet I can hardly absorb the impact on my heart.

My partner, friend, and beloved K9 hero,

Our time together insufficient to ease an eternity apart.

The short years we had are now all I have.

Your gaze is vacant now; the suffering for you is over

but for me it is only beginning; I must bear the pain.

I lift you in my arms, wishing I were taking you home.

The sirens around me are muted; it has begun to rain

which is fitting, for such a day should be as grim as I.

bottom of page