top of page

Meals On Wheels (And Sometimes On Foot!)

An accompaniment to Appetite in the Forest (Read the story from the monster's perspective!)

Prowling through my forest, I glimpse movement to my left. I sniff the air, delighted to stumble across a meal so early in the afternoon. It’s surprising to see a human in the area. They’ve avoided me for so long I’ve almost forgotten the sweet flavor of their flesh. Almost. I glide through the brush, silently flanking my prey. He’s completely oblivious to me, as all his kind have been, but I hesitate. I love the exhilaration of a chase, but an ambush ending in a quick kill has its merits. Indecisive, I follow him a little further. The wind shifts unexpectedly and I am amazed and disgusted that he doesn’t catch my scent. What an inept creature! I move in closer and crouch. The human is on foot; many that I have taken down were riding on metal contraptions with two wheels. I’ve found that pouncing on those is risky. The last time I encountered one, I got my fur caught in a chain and not only was it a painful experience, but it nearly cost me my prey. Ready to commit to the hunt, I lunge and grab the man from behind. Excited by his terrified screams, I shake my head back and forth, my teeth rending flesh from bone. Once I know he’s helpless, I raise my head and howl in triumph. The man is unable to flee, therefore the small noises and movements he makes don’t concern me. I settle in next to him, delicately sniffing his vulnerable belly. He begins screaming again as my teeth tear him open a little. I plunge my snout in deep, reveling in the wet warmth of his bowels. I begin to eat, noticing with amusement that he watches me do so. Slowly, awareness fades from his face and his eyes glaze over. He gasps one last time and dies.

bottom of page