top of page

Poems

Maligned Raven

The raven, like a peacock

strutting ,

his gleaming feathers

and wings displayed

in hopes of

finally being noticed.

Not just a bird of horror and destruction.

He has never feasted on the eyes of the dead.

His onyx eyes glitter but not with malice.

Never that.

He preens and hops, hoping

against hope that the she-crow will see

and be impressed.

She too, has never rapped on a chamber door.

His wings quiver,

and he woos her with his

dark grace and macabre style.

***************

I Am Here (revised)

Darkness is

all around

but I will soon know light.

Pressure.

Paaaaiiin.

Slowly I move downward.

I stop and

I wait but

cannot cry out.

I am left in silent limbo

unable go back.

My path is set so

once again the pressure comes.

I feel myself slip, just a little!

Then again.

Immobile once more I wait

impatiently to know the unknown.

I hear voices familiar to me

yet I don’t know their faces.

Again, I am pushed

rudely.

Slowly.

But I progress!

At last I feel an easing; my head has crowned

and the world is slowly revealing itself

to me!

I am blinded yet again

as the light

sears my opening eyes.

Fluids rush to pass me,

demanding freedom!

Unfamiliar hands pull at me,

tugging,

ripping me from my world.

My chest burns with my first breath and

I scream with the pain

and fear of newness.

Warm arms comfort me

And I know I am Here.

************

October

October...

and cool blazing leaves caress me

as they drift to the drying grass to retire.

The breeze tickles and teases me

Not as much relief as it once was.

The sun’s brutal rays have been tamed and now

yearn to be noticed and felt,

aching to blister my face.

Its light won’t last as long; the moon now reigns supreme.

No more do the blossoms bloom,

no more do the fireflies

dance with their beacons brightly lit.

Summer has ceded its throne and

Fall has begun its slow ascent.

But that too will not last.

Winter will soon howl on the heels

of Autumn and change will once again ravish the landscape.

Bitter winds will growl and bite with icy fangs.

White will dominate where green once thrived.

Death surrounds

with only a vague memory of warmth

And life.

But life goes forth

And reclaims what is hers.

Spring sprouts to once again flourish

And fill the world with the colors of hope.

bottom of page